An SRS update from President Tony Gee

Antony Gee, PhD

Antony Gee, PhD

It was great to see many of you recently at the 23rd ISRS meeting in Beijing, China. I’m sure you would join me in thanking Fan Wang, the local organizing committee, the program committee, SRS staff, sponsors, volunteers and last but not least the delegates - for making the meeting a great success - truly a forum of excellence for radiopharmaceutical science and networking - in keeping with the societies’ rich traditions. To view PDFs of the symposium abstracts or browse meeting photographs, select ISRS 2019 Home Page and browse the program and/or photo album pages.

The next biennial ISRS meeting will be held in Nantes, France in 2021. We are also now able to announce that the venue for the 2023 meeting will be Honolulu, Hawaii, USA. Please keep an eye out for further updates and announcements on the website and in your email inbox over the coming months.

These are exciting times for the SRS - there are many new activities to rouse interests and cater to members’ needs. We have witnessed a rapid growth in the radiopharmaceutical sciences over recent years, making it self-evident that the SRS has, more than ever, a key role to play in enabling the next generation of talent in the field to access the chances they need to flourish. Recognising this, we have recently implemented a new initiative for early-years scientists: SRS-Think Tank (SRS-TT); which aims to increase opportunities and networking for researchers at the start of their careers. Information about this initiative and how you can get involved can be found on the SRS-TT pages. Feel free to:

• Browse the SRS-TT Blog – Radiopharmaconnect

• Find out about our summer school ‘CAFACHEM’ running in London in 2020

• Learn about writing paired reviews for publication in Nuclear Medicine and Biology

I would like to thank the retiring SRS leaders for their great service over recent years: Jae-Min Jong (now Immediate Past President), Gunnar Antoni (now European Director), Michael Adam, Yearn Seong Cho, and Jörg Steinbach.

… and welcome the incoming board/exec members: Jason Lewis (President Elect),Franklin Aigbirhio (Director-at-Large), Jennifer Murphy, Guy Bormans and Fan Wang (Directors: Americas, Europe/Africa and Asia/Oceania, respectively)

All the best,